Home

 

Research focus

Research at the biochemistry division focuses on the analysis of molecular mechanisms and signal transduction pathways underlying the regulation of primary metabolism and cellular communication in plants. Applying molecular physiology and phytopathogical methods intra- as well as inter-organismic interactions are studied. Moreover, biotechnological approaches to optimize crop plants are followed.


Category: news

This beautiful photo was submitted by Julia Eydam to the "Blattgeflüster" Photo Contest. Julia does research at the Chair of Biochemistry at the Friedrich-Alexander University in Erlangen. Under the direction of Prof. Dr. Uwe Sonnewald works here with various crops such as cassava, sugar beet and po...

Category: news

Markus Ingold, a master student from the Biocomputing Lab, recently returned from a three-month research internship at the North Dakota State University (NDSU).

In the group of Dr. Brent Hulke (Sunflower Biology, US Department of Agriculture), he performed genome-wide association studies (GWAS) o...

Category: news

The image of flowers of Solanum pinnatisectum, a wild potato species native to central Mexico, infected with GFP expressing Potato virus X(PVX) has been selected for the 2023 cover of the Journal of Plant Physiology.

Tagging the PVX with a Green Fluorescent Protein (GFP) allows monitoring of the ...

Start

 

Fokus der Forschung

Analysen molekularer Mechanismen zur Regulation des pflanzlichen Stoffwechsels sowie Signalwege der zellulären Kommunikation stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten des Lehrstuhls Biochemie. Hierbei werden mittels molekularphysiologischer und – phytopathologischer Methoden sowohl intra- als auch interorganismische Wechselwirkungen studiert. Darüber hinaus werden biotechnologische Ansätze zur Optimierung von Nutzpflanzen verfolgt.


Kategorie: news

Dieses schöne Foto wurde von Julia Eydam beim Fotowettbewerb "Blattgeflüster" eingereicht. Julia forscht am Lehrstuhl für Biochemie der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Uwe Sonnewald wird hier mit verschiedenen Nutzpflanzen wie Cassava, Zuckerrübe und Kartoff...

Kategorie: news

Markus Ingold, ein Masterstudent aus dem Biocomputing Lab, ist gerade von einem 3-monatigen Forschungspraktikum an der North Dakota State University (NDSU) in Fargo ND, USA, zurückgekommen.

In der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Brent Hulke (Sunflower Biology, US Department of Agriculture) führte er an der...

Kategorie: news

Das Bild von Blüten von Solanum pinnatisectum, einer in Zentralmexiko beheimateten Wildkartoffelart, die mit GFP-exprimierendem Kartoffelvirus X (PVX) infiziert ist, wurde für das Titelblatt 2023 des Journal of Plant Physiology ausgewählt.

Die Markierung des PVX mit einem grün fluoreszierenden Pr...