“Cassava Source-Sink“ – Group Wolfgang Zierer

Fig. 1: Storage roots of a 10-month-old cassava plant
Fig. 1: Storage roots of a 10-month-old cassava plant

We strive to improve cassava storage root yield. Cassava is a tropical crop that is consumed by over 800 million people worldwide and is of special importance for the food security of smallholder farmers in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The plant grows up to 3-4 meters in height and generates several starchy storage roots under good conditions. These storage roots (Fig. 1) and their starch are the basis for a multitude of foods.

Fig. 2: A 4-meter tall cassava plant of genotype 60444.
Fig. 2: A 4-meter tall cassava plant of genotype 60444.

Alongside many other options, the storage roots can be consumed as vegetables in cooked or fried state or their starch can be processed into a variety of products, like the African Gari, a popular kind of puree.

Fig. 3: Identification of yield-related genes in leaves, phloem, and storage roots with subsequent combination.
Fig. 3: Identification of yield-related genes in leaves, phloem, and storage roots with subsequent combination.

IUnfortunately, cassava yield is still comparably low in contrast to the heavily yield-optimized crops like wheat or maize. A sustainable cassava yield improvement would therefore have a large impact on the food security of millions of people. Therefore, we dedicate our work towards cassava yield improvement.

This goal is unfortunately not within easy reach and a biotechnological improvement of cassava yield is dependent on a very detailed understanding of the plant. Therefore, our work also contains a lot of basic science to unravel the physiological and biochemical processes of this exiting plant species.

Fig. 4: Different stages of cassava transformation.
Fig. 4: Different stages of cassava transformation.

We mainly research the regulation of carbohydrate metabolism in auto- and heterotrophic tissues, assimilate transport, as well as developmental processes. Within these processes, we are trying to identify genes with positive impact on storage root yield and to combine them eventually for even larger impact (Fig. 3).

Fig. 5: Cassava plants in the greenhouse.
Fig. 5: Cassava plants in the greenhouse.

We test our target genes via transgenic cassava plants, which we generate ourselves or with the help of our collaboration partner at the ETH Zurich. Cassava transformation comprises refined tissue culture protocols, which can regenerate entire plants from dedifferentiated plant cells (Fig. 4).

As a first step, we test our modified cassava plants with various techniques in the greenhouse. Plants that can outperform their unmodified genetic background are of course of special interest for us (Fig. 5).

Fig. 6: Gas-exchange measurements with two measuring devices on a cassava plant.
Fig. 6: Gas-exchange measurements with two measuring devices on a cassava plant.

In addition to the determination of agronomic parameters and different physiological experiments like gas-exchange measurements (Fig. 6), we routinely employ most modern techniques of molecular plant research, like transcriptome- and proteome studies (Fig. 7).

Fig. 7: Example of a weighted gene correlation network analysis with seven different cassava tissues.
Fig. 7: Example of a weighted gene correlation network analysis with seven different cassava tissues.

Several metabolite measurements are part of our routine application as well. Enzymatic or chromatographic sugar measurements for instance, grant us insight into primary plant metabolism (Fig. 8).

Fig. 8: Enzymatic determination of glucose, fructose, and sucrose (A) and chromatographic determination of phosphorylated intermediates (B).
Fig. 8: Enzymatic determination of glucose, fructose, and sucrose (A) and chromatographic determination of phosphorylated intermediates (B).

 

 

Fig. 9: Characterization of a cassava promoter in a stably transformed promoter-reporter plant.
Fig. 9: Characterization of a cassava promoter in a stably transformed promoter-reporter plant.

In addition to the identification and analysis of various genes, we also work on the improvement of tools for the generation of better transgenic cassava plant. Examples are better transformation protocols or the identification of tissue specific promoter sequences (Fig. 9)

Fig. 10: Cassava storage root cross-section containing fluorescent substances.
Fig. 10: Cassava storage root cross-section containing fluorescent substances.

Furthermore, we conduct different studies on cassava wild type plants and various breeding material to understand underlying physiological processes, like the storage root formation or the assimilate transport.

 

Recently, we could clarify the symplasmic connections in cassava stems and storage roots by introducing and following fluorescent substances into the plant (Fig. 10).

Fig. 11: Cassava Source-Sink project partners.
Fig. 11: Cassava Source-Sink project partners.

Our research group is part of the Cassava Source-Sink (www.cass-research.org) project (CASS) and has excess to a large network of plant science techniques and expertise through our various partners (Fig. 11).

 

We have close collaborations with:

  • International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Bioscience, Ibadan, Nigeria
  • National Root Crops Research Institute (NRCRI), Umudike, Nigeria
  • Chung-Hsing University (NCHU), Advanced Biotechnology Center, Taichung, Taiwan
  • Sainsbury Laboratory Cambridge University (SLCU), Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Boyce Thompson Institute, Plant Research (BTI), Ithaca NY, USA
  • Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Chair of Biochemistry, Zurich, Switzerland.
  • Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Chair of Plant Physiology, Germany
    Fig. 12: Different phases of field-testing at NCHU Taichung, Taiwan.
    Fig. 12: Different phases of field-testing at NCHU Taichung, Taiwan.
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich, Institut für Bio- und Geowissenschaften, Germany

 

Together with our partners, we established an entire plant-testing pipeline, starting with the generation of transgenic cassava plants, followed by laboratory and greenhouse pre-testing, and ultimately field-testing (Fig. 12).

 

Overview of a young cassava field

 

Overview of an advanced cassava field


Fig. 13: Cassava field-testing at IITA Ibadan, Nigeria.
Fig. 13: Cassava field-testing at IITA Ibadan, Nigeria.

Our field trials are executed together with NCHU Taichung, Taiwan and the IITA Ibadan, Nigeria (Fig. 13).

We test transgenic cassava plants with alterations in source-sink metabolism at both location. IITA Ibadan also does conventional cassava breeding and we work together on different projects characterizing these genotypes.

Our research group and the entire Cassava Source-Sink project hope to contribute towards food security of African smallholder farmers. If you are interested in cassava or would like to support us in any way, feel free to contact wolfgang.zierer@fau.de.

„Cassava Source-Sink“ – AG Wolfgang Zierer

Abbildung 1
Abb.1: Speicherwurzeln einer 10 Monate alten Cassava Pflanze

Unser Team strebt danach den Ertrag von Cassava zu erhöhen. Cassava ist eine tropische Nutzpflanze die weltweit mehr als 800 Millionen Menschen mit Nahrung versorgt. Besonders in Sub-Sahara Afrika besitzt die Pflanze eine enorme Bedeutung für die Nahrungssicherheit der lokalen Kleinbauern.

Der 3-4 Meter hohe Strauch bringt unter guten Bedingungen zahlreiche stärkehaltige Speicherwurzeln hervor. Die Wurzeln (Abb. 1) und die Stärke in diesen Wurzeln bilden die Basis für vielfältige Nahrungsmittel.

Abbildung 2
Abb.2: Eine 4 Meter hohe Cassava Pflanze des Genotyps 60444

So werden die Wurzeln beispielsweise gekocht oder frittiert gegessen, oder die Stärke in den Wurzeln wird zu Produkten wie dem afrikanische Gari, eine Art Brei, verarbeitet.

Abbildung 3
Abb.3: Entdeckung von ertragsrelevanten Genen in Blättern, Phloem, und Speicherwurzeln mit folgender Kombination

Im Gegensatz zu bereits sehr ertragsoptimierten Nutzpflanzen wie z.B. Weizen oder Mais, sind die Erträge von Cassava oft noch niedrig. Eine nachhaltige Ertragssteigerung würde daher die Nahrungssicherheit von Millionen Menschen verbessern. Deshalb arbeiten wir an der biotechnologischen Verbesserung des Cassava Ertrags.

Leider ist dieses Ziel noch nicht zum Greifen nahe und eine biotechnologische Verbesserung bedingt ein tiefgreifendes Verständnis der Pflanze. Unsere Arbeit beinhaltet deshalb auch sehr viel Grundlagenforschung um die physiologischen und biochemischen Prozesse dieser spannenden Pflanze besser zu verstehen.

Abbildung 4
Abb.4: Verschiedene Stadien der Cassava Transformation

Wir forschen vor allem an der Regulation des Kohlenstoffwechsels in autotrophen- und heterotrophen Pflanzengeweben, dem Assimilat Transport, sowie der pflanzlichen Entwicklung. Innerhalb dieser Prozesse versuchen wir Gene mit positiven Auswirkung auf den Ertrag zu identifizieren und sie eventuell miteinander zu kombinieren um einen noch stärkeren Effekt zu erzielen (Abb. 3).

Abbildung 5
Abb.5: Cassavapflanzen im Gewächshaus

Wir testen die Gene mit Hilfe von transgenen Cassavapflanzen, die wir entweder selbst oder mit Hilfe unserer Kooperationspartner an der ETH Zürich erstellen. Dabei kommen ausgefeilte Gewebekulturprotokolle zum Einsatz die aus de-differenzierten Zellen wieder ganze Pflanzen regenerieren (Abb. 4).

Die von uns veränderten Cassavapflanzen werden zunächst in unseren Gewächshäusern mit verschiedensten Methoden untersucht. Pflanzen die besser wachsen als ihr jeweiliger genomischer Hintergrund sind dabei natürlich besonders interessant (Abb. 5).

Abbildung 6
Abb.6: Gasaustausch Messungen an Cassava mit zwei Messköpfen

Neben der Erfassung von Wachstumsparametern und physiologischer Studien wie z.B. Photosynthese Messungen (Abb. 6), kommen bei uns alle gängigen Techniken molekularer Pflanzenforschung wie z.B. Transkriptom- und Proteomanalysen (Abb. 7) regelmäßig zum Einsatz.

Abbildung 7
Abb. 7: Beispiel einer gewichteten Gennetzwerk Korrelationsanalyse mit sieben verschiedenen Geweben

Auch zahlreiche Metabolit Messungen gehören zu unserem Standardrepertoir. So gewähren uns z.B. enzymatische Zuckermessungen und Massenspektrometrie-basierte Methoden Einblicke in den pflanzlichen Primärmetabolismus (Abb. 8).

Abbildung 8
Abb. 8: Enzymatische Bestimmung von Glucose, Fructose und Saccharose (A) und chromatografische Bestimmung von phosphorylierten Intermediaten (B)

 

Abbildung 8
Abb. 9: Charakterisierung eines Cassava Promoters mit Hilfe von stabil-transformierten Promoter-Reporter Pflanzen

 

Zusätzlich zur Analyse von ertragsrelevanten Genen arbeiten wir auch an der Entwicklung von besseren Werkzeugen zur Erzeugung transgener Pflanzen wie z.B. verbesserte Transformationsprotokolle oder die Identifizierung gewebespezifischer Promotoren (Abb. 9).

Abbildung 10
Abb. 10: Speicherwurzelquerschnitt einer mit einer fluoreszierenden Substanz beladenen Pflanze

Desweitern führen wir auch verschiedene Studien an Cassava Wildtyp (WT) Pflanzen und verschiedenen Zuchtsorten durch um grundlegende physiologische Prozesse der Cassavapflanze wie z.B. die Speicherwurzelbildung oder den Assimilat Transport besser zu verstehen.

Abbildung 11
Abb. 11: Cassava Source-Sink Projektpartner

So haben wir zum Beispiel mit Beladungsexperimenten mit fluoreszierenden Substanzen die zelluläre Konnektivität von Cassava Stämmen und Speicherwurzeln aufgeklärt (Abb. 10).

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe ist in das Cassava Source-Sink (www.cass-research.org) Projekt (CASS) eingebettet und hat durch unsere zahlreichen Partner Zugriff auf ein größeren Netzwerk von pflanzenbiologischen Techniken und Expertisen (Abb. 11).

 

Wir pflegen enge Kooperationen mit:

  • International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Bioscience, Ibadan, Nigeria
  • National Root Crops Research Institute (NRCRI), Umudike, Nigeria
  • Chung-Hsing University (NCHU), Advanced Biotechnology Center, Taichung, Taiwan
  • Sainsbury Laboratory Cambridge University (SLCU), Cambridge, United Kingdom
    Abbildung 12
    Abb. 12: Verschiedene Phasen der Feldtestung an der NCHU Taichung, Taiwan
  • Boyce Thompson Institute, Plant Research (BTI), Ithaca NY, USA
  • Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Biochemie, Zürich, Schweiz.
  • Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Lehrstuhl für Pflanzenphysiologie, Deutschland
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich, Institut für Bio- und Geowissenschaften, Deutschland
  • Max-Planck-Institute, Molekulare Pflanzenphysiologie, Deutschland

Mit Hilfe unserer Partner haben wir eine vollständige Pipeline von der Erstellung transgener Pflanzen, über die Labor- und Gewächshausanalyse, bis hin zur Feldtestung aufgesetzt (Abb. 12).

 

Versuchsfeld in Taiwan: 3 Monate alte Maniok-Pflanzen

 

Versuchsfeld in Taiwan: Kurz vor der Ernte


Abbildung 13
Abb. 13: Cassava Feldtestung am IITA Ibadan, Nigeria.

Unsere Feldversuche finden gemeinsam mit der NCHU Taichung, Taiwan und dem IITA Ibadan, Nigeria (Abb. 13) statt.

An beiden Standorten testen wir transgene Cassavapflanzen mit Änderungen im Source-Sink Stoffwechsel. Am IITA Ibadan wird außerdem Cassava auf konventionelle Art gezüchtet und wir arbeiten zusammen an zahlreichen Projekten zur Charakterisierung dieser Genotypen.

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe und das gesamte Cassava Source-Sink Projekt hoffen einen kleinen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Nahrungssicherheit afrikanischer Kleinbauern leisten zu können. Wenn ihr euch auch für Cassava interessiert oder uns bei unserem Projekt unterstützen wollt, meldet euch gerne bei wolfgang.zierer@fau.de.